Our Sponsors

Alberta Police Curling Association
News and Current Events

More information here



2009 Canadian Police Curling Championship

Team Canada: Doug Marks, Joel Matthews, Lance Dealy, Al Buerger, Wally Purcell Team Alberta: Mike Pierson, Jeremy Bowler, Devon Bateman, Bob Smith

The 2009 Canadian Police Curling Championship was held between March 21st and March 28th in St. John’s, Newfoundland. The organizing committee led by Jim Carroll and his wife, Karen did an outstanding job. Unfortunately, they had no control over the weather. The Friday before the competition was beautiful as was the Sunday following the competition. The weather in between was well, less than perfect.

Both Team Canada and Team Alberta arrived safely in St. John’s only to find out there would be an all Alberta face off in the very first game. Team Alberta jumped out to an early lead but Team Canada ended up with that all important first W. The ice was outstanding at the Bally Haly Curling Club all week which contributed to some very good curling. The hospitality room run by Gary Crocker and his crew was also outstanding and contributed to some very good talk about curling. It became evident from early on, that life for the official championship mascot, the puffin was more dangerous at home than in Kamloops, B.C. as all four puffins went missing before the end of the week.


There were several banquets and functions throughout the week. The most memorable one being the Awards banquet held on Thursday evening at a very swanky new complex known simply as “The Rooms”. It was a first class affair all the way.

Both Team Canada and Team Alberta had several opportunities during the week to sample the outstanding seafood available and were not disappointed. It will be hard for both teams to have to eat good old Alberta seafood when they get back home. Oh well, bring on the Alberta beef.

When the dust settled after a long week of curling, Team Canada ended up in third place. To win the championship, they would have to beat all three teams they lost to during round robin play. They were up to the task and remain Team Canada for another year.

Both Joel Matthews and Lance Dealy were named all stars at their positions. For Lance and Al Buerger, it was a particularly satisfying week because despite their old age, they are now the sole 6 time Canadian Police Curling Champions.  


Lance Dealy participated in the 2009 Alberta Senior Men's Championship on the weekend of February 21st. at the Thistle Curling Club in Edmonton. Lance's bid to go to PEI for the Canadian Senior Men's Championship just fell short when they lost the semi final game in an extra end.

Mark Johnson curled in the US National Championship in Denver, Colorado during the week of February 22nd. Unfortunately, they just missed making the playoffs but they can be proud of the very good run they had.


2009 Alberta Police Curling Championship

Congratulations to the Mike Pierson team from Stony Plain, Alberta for winning the Alberta Provincial Police Curling Championship in Innisfail, Alberta on January 10th. The final was a best of three affair but only required two games to Crown our new Provincial Champion. We wish Mike Pierson, Jeremy Bowler, Devon Bateman and Bob Smith good luck and good curling at the 2009 Canadian Police Curling Championship in St. John's, Newfoundland in March. Go Team Alberta !!

Left to right: Mike Pierson, Jeremy Bowler, Devon Bateman and Bob Smith


2008 Canadian Police Curling Champions

On March 29th, 2008 Team Alberta became Team Canada by defeating last year's Canadian Champion, Garth Mitchell from Ontario in the final. The Alberta team had a rough start down 3 - 0 after two ends but rallied to tie the game after 4. A deuce in 6 and another deuce in 8 led to a tie game after 9 and set the stage for an exciting final end. The battle was won when Team Canada's last rock slipped to the back 8 foot and left Alberta laying one and the victory.

With the win, Lance Dealy and Al Buerger join select company with Norm Gilbertson, Robbie Findlater and Garth Mitchell as the only five time National Champions in police curling. For Joel Matthews, the win was also special as it was his first Canadian Championship. Well done guys.

Team Alberta would like to thank the Kamloops organizing committee and volunteers for an excellent job. A special thanks to John Hunka for being a great team driver. Add two rounds of golf on a beautiful course in March and Team Alberta couldn't have had a better week.

Special thanks to Bob Boida, Dave Primmett and Mike Loyer for making the trip to Kamloops and being the team's number one fans.

Team Alberta
Gold Medal Winners

Team Canada (Ontario)
Silver Medal Winners

Team B.C.
Bronze Medal Winners

                    Lance Dealy presenting cheque to     Lance Dealy presenting cheque to Kerry Nesbitt of
Alberta Special Olympics                                      Cops for Cancer

In July 2006, members of the Alberta Police Curling Association and the Edmonton Police Curling League provided security for the Grand Prix Edmonton. Their volunteer effort raised $20,000 dollars for our charity partners.

On December 21, 2006, Lance Dealy of the Alberta Police Curling Association presented cheques for $10,000 dollars each to Alberta Special Olympics and Cops for Cancer.




Reg #395

It is with great sadness that we announce the death of Garry PATTERSON.  Garry passed away suddenly at the age of 70 on Sunday October 14, 2007.  A celebration of Garry’s life was held at the St. Albert Funeral Home on Friday October 19, 2007 at 10:00 a.m.

Garry joined the Edmonton Police Department on March 27th, 1967. During his first 13 years, he worked in Patrol Division, Gaol Section, Communications Section, Court and Summons Section and Patrol Division Zone B. On February 4th, 1980, Garry was promoted to Detective and was assigned to the Criminal Investigation Section Zone B.  On February 25th, 1985 Garry was transferred to Robbery and Extortion Detail and on May 3rd, 1993 he moved to the Fraud and Commercial Crimes Unit. He retired on March 29th, 1997.

Garry is a long time member of the Alberta Police Curling Association. He won the Alberta Provincial Police Championship in 1978 with Darryl BROWN, Jim CESSFORD and Orest POPOWICH. In 1994, Garry was the Host Chairman for the 1994 Canadian Police Curling Championship in Edmonton. During the Championship, he was awarded the prestigious Honourary Life Time Member Award from the Canadian Police Curling Association for his contribution to Police Curling. Garry served on our Association Executive in every capacity for many years and was the Alberta Provincial Coordinator and 5th man for the Mark Johnson rink until 1998. Garry will long be remembered for his passion and dedication to police curling in Alberta. He will be deeply missed by his family and friends.


The Canadian Championship was held in Moncton, N.B. between March 31st and April 8th, 2007. Joel Matthews, Don Garrioch, Gary Beam and Wally Purcell represented Alberta well. Congratulations to Joel Matthews for winning the 2007 Dick Tincher Award for the player exhibiting the best combination of sportsmanship and ability.

Moncton Team Alberta Tincher Matthews



Our Champions Page still has a lot of holes we would like to see filled. We would also like to add pictures beside the team names. Please send any team names and pictures you may have to the email link below and watch for the pictures to show up on the Champions Page.